Mason Dixon Football league Website

The Beast From the East!

           All you need to know about the Mason Dixon Football League

Letter from the Mason Dixon Football league President William Fisher.
Greetings, Fans, Supporters and Members of the MDFL:

The Mason Dixon Football League was established in 1978 to allow young adult men the opportunity to play organized, amateur adult tackle football for the love of the game and without compensation.  These young men are committed to elevating the game of football in your community.  Our teams are located on the east coast from New Jersey to South Carolina with a North and South Conference.  Many of these young men are experienced football players with high school, college and professionally paid football backgrounds.  This football league has also created many opportunities for these players to receive college scholarships as well as professional try-outs with Arena (AFL), Canadian (CFL), and the NFL.  The MDFL has produced several League and National Hall of fame football players, coaches, officials, staff and administration.  We have a League Championship game at the end of the season to recognize our Champion and Runner-Up teams.  We also recognize our Hall of Fame inductees for their past and present achievements with the MDFL.

As we start the 2015 football season, it is our goal to provide the most exciting and competitive form of outdoor sports entertainment.   We are striving to be more involved in your community through our member football teams.  We will have more quality teams and more opportunities for athletes, coaches and volunteer staff to live their dream in the football business.  Your support of our member teams will continue to make this dream possible.

As President of the MDFL, I am constantly looking for ways to improve our league with you in mind.  My leadership is based on enhancing the experience for everyone involved to create a great product for the community in which you reside.  Please continue to support our member teams as we move forward. Without you, none of this would be possible.  You have my sincere gratitude for your continuous support.


William M. Fisher

President-Mason Dixon Football League


   Mason Dixon Football League History

Welcome to the Mason-Dixon Football League  website for 2009. The League has been in continuous operation since 1978 and was reclassified from Class AA to Class AAA in 1988. Games are played under modified NFL rules using officials who have received special training in those rules by NFL officials. The Mason Dixon Football league is made of teams from  New Jersey,Maryland, Washington DC, Virginia,North Carolina.

The Mason Dixon Football League consist of the following teams: The Arbutus Big Red, Virginia Ravens, Virginia Crusaders, Frederickaburg Falcons, New Jersey Broncos, Washington D.C. Dragons, Carolina Heat, Gretna Storm, Carolina Warriors, Carolina Crush,Fayetteville Ruff Riders,Wilmington Tigers.
The MDFL is considered to be one of the most competitive leagues in the united states. Each team in the MDFL plays a 10 week schedule with a single elimination playoff tournament system. 
As a group, the MDFL represents one of the stronger memberships of any active minor league organization. Located just outside of Baltimore, the Arbutus "Big Red" have played since 1943, making them one of the oldest teams in the country. In 1996, one of our former teams, the Fredericksburg Generals, was declared the AFA National Champion. In 1997, the Virginia Ravens played the Marlboro, Mass. Shamrocks in the AFA's National Championship game. Many of our players have received national recognition by being named AFA All-Americans. Ron Meehan, former QB for the Big Red, was selected the AFA Player of the Year in 1991. In 1994, Darryl Dugger, center for the Virginia Ravens, was selected AFA Offensive Lineman of the Year. Rodney Baylor, Hampton Roads Sharks, was named the 1995 AFA Defensive Lineman of the Year.   In 1997, Charles Allen, OG for the Virginia Ravens, was named the Offensive Lineman of the Year. Eight MDFL players were named 1998 1st & 2nd team AFA All-Americans, in 1999 five players were selected and in 2002, the League had seven players selected as 1st & 2nd team All-Americans.  Joe Hand of the Jacksonville Raiders was named the AFA's 2002 Gold Ball winner as Special Teams Player of the Year. The Virginia Mutiny were recognized as the AFA's 2002 State and Mid East Regional winner and the Jacksonville (NC) Raiders were named the AFA's North Carolina State Champions. The National Football Events named a total of 20 MDFL players to their 2002 All-American teams. The AFA end-of-season rankings listed the Raiders at # 8 and the Mutiny at # 11. Also in 2002, the MDFL (16 teams) joined with the United (16 teams), Southern (10 teams), South Atlantic Minor (6 teams) and Appalachian (4 teams) Leagues to form the Eastern Football Alliance Tournament. League Champions would advance as well as the next 3 teams with the top power rankings. It was decided that the following Leagues would host the Championship in the following years: 2004 - MDFL; 2005 - SAMFL; 2006 - Appalachian; 2007 - United. Playoffs began in November with 3 MDFL teams invited: the Virginia Mutiny, the Jacksonville Raiders and the Raleigh/Durham Wolverines. In December of 2002, the Jacksonville Raiders won the inaugural championship game which was hosted by the United League in Richmond, Va., and were named the Eastern National Semi-Pro Football Champions. Kendrick Pollock, QB for the Raiders, was named as the MVP for the game.
In 2003, 2 MDFL teams participated in the EFA tournament (Broncos & Ravens) with the Broncos advancing to the semi-final round. The Middle Georgia Stallions of the Southern Football League were crowned the 2003 Champion.
In 2003, the AFA recognized 57 MDFL players as All-Americans. Minor League Football News honored several of our members with the following awards: 2003 Outstanding League of the Year; Comeback Team os the Year - New Jersey Broncos; GM of the Year - Sharon Jacobs, Cumberland Calley (PA) Cardinals; Woman of the Year - Mary Lockhart, Virginia Ravens. National Football Events recognized 11 MDFL players as All-Americans.
2004 saw the VA Ravens beat the PW Monarchs in an exciting championship game decided in the last seconds by a field goal. It also saw the VA Ravens win the EFA title beating the NY Bandits of the UFL.
2005 saw a repeat of the Ravens beating the Monarchs for the MDFL title but a repeat of the EFA was not to be had as the Ravens lost to the Conshohocken Steelers of the CFA in the title game. 2006 had the Monarchs fianlly getting over the hump and defeating the Carolina Heat in the MDFL championship game. The Heat got some measure of revenge by beating the Monarchs in the EFA playoffs but lost in the finals to the Conshohocken Steelers